littleret.blogg.se

Virtualbox ubuntu freezes
Virtualbox ubuntu freezes












virtualbox ubuntu freezes
  1. Virtualbox ubuntu freezes update#
  2. Virtualbox ubuntu freezes driver#
  3. Virtualbox ubuntu freezes windows 7#

In the Ubuntu system there is a message related to that issue: $ cat /var/log/kern.logįeb 11 09:16:04 nagardv kernel: Initializing XFRM netlink socketįeb 11 09:16:16 nagardv kernel: ] *ERROR* Failed to open channel.įeb 11 09:16:21 nagardv kernel: rfkill: input handler disabled There is not possible to get the system back working. I imagine there is an xserver-xorg-video-nouveau bug which makes it incompatible with Firefox.Ĭonsequence: I reinstalled Firefox, standard version (92.The Ubuntu 20.04 hangs or freezes after some time running in VirtualBox.

Virtualbox ubuntu freezes driver#

Results of the operation: it is "simply" a problem with the graphics card driver which blocked my computer, and not Firefox.ĭriver : nvidia-340 - distro non-free recommended SoI therefore decided to change the graphics card driver, as explained in binary driver Nvidia.Īnd everything started to work normally !!! Actually, if the X server crashed, the rest of the machine was functioning normally, for example we could connect from a remote station. As I use Firefox Sync to synchronize my passwords between my two other workstations (they also under Ubuntu, and without these problems on Firefox), I quickly found back my surfing environment on the internet.īut after a few hours, the freezing problem surfaced again, excluding the version of Firefox. I thought I had found a workaround for this problem: using Firefox ESR. or reboot (Alt Syst b, thanks to Magic SysRq key). I just then had to wait 5, or even 10 minutes. As soon as I opened a second Firefox window, the computer froze, even the clock froze. Same situation for me, on Ubuntu/Mate/Xfce 20.04.3 LTS. I updated my BIOS, but the problem is still occurring. I upgraded by RAM, graphics card, and monitor. This means it is not a distribution-specific problem. I installed Arch Linux on my machine and still got the same behavior. I also ran debsums to check the checksums of the Firefox package, but it did not find any errors. I am still getting freezes when I run Firefox from a terminal in safe mode with my profile path set to an empty directory (a step suggested by firefox -safe-mode -profile ~/some_empty_directory/ -no-remote -new-instance May 7 16:29:53 M圜omputer wpa_supplicant: nl80211: send_and_recv->nl_recvmsgs failed: -33 I end up having to hard reboot by holding the power button. When frozen, the keyboard and mouse are unresponsive, and various Ctrl + Alt + and Alt + SysRq + combinations (commands on this page for example) don't seem to do anything. May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer nm-dispatcher: req:1 'dhcp4-change' : start running ordered scripts. The same freezes occurred when running Firefox from live USB versions of Ubuntu 16.04 and 17.10. May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer nm-dispatcher: req:1 'dhcp4-change' : new request (1 scripts)

virtualbox ubuntu freezes

I had to manually force reboot the computer every time I boot the virtualbox (ctrl+alt+F1/ doesnt help).

virtualbox ubuntu freezes

Virtualbox ubuntu freezes windows 7#

May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer systemd: Started Network Manager Script Dispatcher Service. The entire computer would be frozen right after I double click the Windows 7 icon. May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer dbus: Successfully activated service '_dispatcher' May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer systemd: Starting Network Manager Script Dispatcher Service. May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer NetworkManager: dhcp4 (wlp5s0): state changed bound -> bound May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer NetworkManager: domain name 'lan' May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer NetworkManager: lease time 300 May 7 16:28:41 M圜omputer dbus: Activating via systemd: service name='_dispatcher' unit=''

Virtualbox ubuntu freezes update#

And I would be happy to update my post with any more info. If it helps, below is the end of my /var/log/syslog prior to the crash. I have checked the contents of these files, have web-searched the messages, but don't know enough to have any meaningful insights. I am not a Linux expert, but my understanding is that at this point I should check /var/log/syslog, /var/log/kern.log, and similar files.

virtualbox ubuntu freezes

When frozen, the keyboard and mouse are unresponsive, and various Ctrl+ Alt+ and Alt+ SysRq+ combinations (commands on this page for example) don't seem to do anything. The same freezes occurred when running Firefox from live USB versions of Ubuntu 16.04 and 17.10. I know it is Firefox because my system works fine with Chrome. I am running Ubuntu 16.04 and Firefox freezes my system about once a day.














Virtualbox ubuntu freezes